Nottingham Mavericks Greatest Players

Nottingham Mavericks Greatest PlayersWhen talking about Ice Hockey, Nottingham Mavericks are a team that are seldom overlooked. Based in Nottingham, England, Nottingham Mavericks is the most popular and triumphant ice hockey club in the UK. It is basically the joint teamwork of The University of Nottingham and Nottingham Trent University. It consists of students from the two above mentioned universities who play as a combined team in colours green, blue and white.

The History of the Nottingham Mavericks

The Nottingham Mavericks have won a number of honours over the years with their prominent skills and sportsmanship. Their achievements include Championships of 2005 2006 and 2007, Division 1, Championship in 2008, Division 2 and Division 3 championship in year 2011. They have also won National Championship honour from 2004 to 2010 in different tiers.

The Best Players

Some of the well-known Mavericks’ Players that have played recently under the name Nottingham Lions (the senior team of Nottingham Ice Hockey Club- Junior) are Gareth O’Flaherty, Ben Wood and Max Bennett from Trent and J. Clarkson, J. Baveystock, R. Griffiths and C. Johnson-Brown representing Nottingham Uni.
This Ice hockey club has been established with a view to providing a number of chances to students having the ability and interest to play ice hockey from either of the two universities. As a result they explore their capabilities playing games organised by the British Universities Ice Hockey Association. The club tries hard to endorse fair play and lives to provide healthy and social atmosphere to players. It also boasts of some experienced and expert coaches that facilitate the players to maintain the standard of the game.

Picture: Alexander Vasilyev – Fotolia